This website uses cookies to store information on your computer. Some of these cookies are used for visitor analysis, others are essential to making our site function properly and improve the user experience. By using this site, you consent to the placement of these cookies. Click Accept to consent and dismiss this message or Deny to leave this website. Read our Privacy Statement for more.


Our Awards Program proudly recognizes the performance and learning projects that embrace and exceed the standards of excellence of the Institute for Performance and Learning, and are a way to celebrate the profession's most innovative people and their projects.


The I4PL Awards judging is now underway and members can vote on the Learner Impact award from November 9-23, 2020.  The 2020 Awards of Excellence will provide opportunities for the entire spectrum of our members and field to showcase their excellent work.


Award of Excellence for Designing Curricula

Award of Excellence for Designing Learning Experiences

Award of Excellence for Learner Impact

Award of Excellence for Applied Innovation

Standard of Achievement Awards for Designing Curricula and Designing Learning Experiences

Winners will be notified in December and an event to recognize the winners will take place in late January 2021.  With a view to inviting all our members to celebrate excellence in our field, the I4PL Awards event will take a different format this year. In January, we will invite our members to attend an online celebration, get a taste of the wonderful programs that received awards and meet their creators. We look forward to having you be part of this exciting event.


The Designing Curricula and Designing Learning Experiences categories have two levels of recognition:

RECOGNITION LEVEL 1: Standard of Achievement  for meeting the assessment criteria. The assessment criteria reflect key outputs from the Competencies for Performance and Learning Professionals for the Designing Curricula and Designing Learning Experiences competencies.

RECOGNITION LEVEL 2: Award of Excellence  for exceeding the assessment criteria. The assessment criteria for Designing Curricula and Designing Learning Experiences focus on identifying, articulating and demonstrating how a methodology, theory, or practice exceed the key outputs of the Designing Curricula or Designing Learning Experiences competencies. For the Award of Excellence, the applicant must submit an abstract (see Appendix 1) as part of the PDF document, in addition to completing the online form.


The Applied Innovation category has only 1 level of recognition: the Award of Excellence for meeting the assessment criteria for the Applied Innovation category.

The Learner Impact  category has only 1 level of recognition: the Award of Excellence.   This award is voted on by the membership.


The Awards 2020 Overview and Guidelines contain all relevant rules and instructions for this year's awards program.

For an Award of Excellence, the submission must demonstrate how the solution elevated transfer of learning, affect or impact, alignment of individual and organizational needs, partnering with clients, or learner engagement. Additional documents are submitted to demonstrate this - the abstract and two supporting documents. 

For detailed instructions on how to complete each application for each category and recognition level, please consult the 2020 Awards Submission Workbook.

Here are the full rubrics that the applicant should review to understand the criteria judges will be applying to the submissions:

Designing Curricula

Designing Learning Experiences

Learner Impact

Applied Innovation

Follow Us

The Institute for Performance and Learning
411 Richmond Street East, Suite 200
Toronto, Ontario
M5A 3S5

Phone 416.367.5900 or 1.866.257.4275