Celebrating the very best in our profession

Aligning  the profession’s most innovative people, projects, and programs with the Institute’s standards of excellence. Our Awards of Excellence program recognize the performance and learning projects that embrace and exceed the standards of the Institute for Performance and Learning.

Looking to submit for 2017?
Applications aren’t open yet. Check back soon, or follow us on Twitter for our latest updates.

Frequently Asked Questions

When can I submit for an award?

The call for submissions opens on May 26, 2017 and closes on June 30, 2017 at 11:59 PM Eastern Time

What is the cost to submit?

The non-refundable application fee is $350 + taxes for members per award submission. You must be a member to apply.

I don't have a membership, can I still apply?

Your most hold a valid membership with The Institute for Performance and Learning in order to submit for an award. Joining is easy! Visit our site for more detail:

What are the awards categories this year?

There are 4 award types this year:

  • Designing Curricula (focuses on larger, long-range training programs)
  • Designing Learning Experiences (focuses on specific learning interventions)
  • Applied Innovation (focuses on the use of hard and soft technologies to improve learning and performance, or learning and design.)
  • Learner Impact (focuses on rich, engaging interactions that go beyond gaining just t

What is the first step to submit?

Before submitting your online Submission form, you must complete the online payment process.


How many awards will be given out?

This depends on the output of the judging process. There are 4 award types this year: Designing Curricula, Designing Learning Experiences, Applied Innovation, Learner Impact.

What will the winners receive for winning an Award of Excellence?

Winners will receive an award at the Nov 6 Awards Gala in Toronto during the I4PL annual conference. Winners will also be showcased online throughout the year via website and other digital channels.

Why should I apply?

You should apply if you think you have a remarkable solution and story to tell. Doing so amplifies our profession and makes it stronger.

If we submitted last year but didn't receive an award, may we resubmit?

Yes, you are welcome to resubmit for the 2017 Awards of Excellence program.

If my company isn't headquartered in Canada, may we still submit?

Yes, although you must offer evidence of a Canadian connection and impact in the Canadian workplace.

How many categories can I submit to?

A body of work can be submitted for as many categories as you believe are worthy however, each category will be reviewed separately based on their own assessment rubric. There is a $350.00 + HST non-refundable submission fee for each category you submit for.

What are the timelines?

1. Call for Submissions: May 26 to June 30, 2017
2. Submission Qualification: July 2 to July 14, 2017
3. Award Consideration: July 17 to August 31, 2017
4. Award Notification: Week of September 4, 2017.
5. Award Ceremony: November 6, 2017

What do I submit?

  1. Submission form
  2. Self-asssessment rubric
  3. Supporting documents (maximum 3)
  4. Video (3-5 minutes if submitting for the Learner Impact award category)

NOTE: Before submitting, you must first complete the online payment.

NOTE: Submissions must be edited/curated for brevity. Historically, submissions included large volumes of content/documentation for judges to sort through.

NOTE: Submissions should target industry professionals as their audience. Historically the submissions and presentations speak to management not knowledgeable industry professionals.

NOTE: Each category should be able to be reviewed within 2-3 hours. Select the best module/documents to demonstrate meeting and/or exceeding the assessment criteria.

When will I know the results?

Submitters will be notified of award status the week of September 4, 2017

Can you send me an example of an award-worthy submission?

Unfortunately, we cannot. The results of this awards program is that each submission is unique and you must demonstrate to us why it is worthy. You are welcome to review the short videos of last year’s award winners.